Tribute for Meera, part 2

fullsizerender[1]I didn’t know that then, but Meera had just gotten hold of me and was not about to let go. She would only let go years later, tears running, when I would push her so hard that she had no more choice.

Primal painting? I had done so much primal therapy work during the last few years, and I loved the intensity of it.  Primal Painting sounded deep and dark and heavy, and I suddenly found myself excited.

Meera’s creativity caravan started, and this year I joined her staff of a dozen people. It was a big group with at least 60 participants, and as a translator I was participating for free but was also helping the crew. Helping with Meera was intense; we were fully involved in the process and on top of it we were taking care of the whole set up and cleaning, mixing colours, preparing brushes and paper… It was an incredible happening that would last for almost 3 months.

The Swiss friend I was translating for was rather good in English and my job was easy. I joined this unbelievable caravan and  started to paint and play with colours and energies… it was fun and intense and I enjoyed what Meera was offering ; but still, I clearly had this feeling that I was wasting my time and that painting was not my thing.

Halfway through this first part  Meera brought us all to a dark and soundproof room deep underneath the commune; there we would explore our darkness. We got given a very large piece of paper each, big brushes and 2 buckets of acrylic paints, one black and one white. Music was bumping loud and Meera was guiding us to connect with those hidden places inside. We danced, we moved and we played with those large quantities of black and white acrylics. We were encouraged to dive into our darkest corners and express with movement and paints. It was one of the wildest and most intense session I ever had anywhere, and except from a few candles burning in the room we were practically painting in the dark with mostly black paints.

( part 3 …)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 thought on “Tribute for Meera, part 2”

Leave a Reply

